Author Appearance

Astrology and the Archetypal Power of Numbers

Joe Landwehr will visit City Lights Bookstore on Friday, March 22nd at 6:30 p.m. He will present his two volumes of Astrology and the Archetypal Power of Numbers. Part One (A Contemporary Reformulation of Pythagorean Number Theory) is a meandering exploration of the extant teachings of Pythagoras about number.   Part Two (The Construction of the Birthchart by Number) is an explanation of how this Pythagorean sense of number is reflected astrologically, both in moments of historical significance and in the birthcharts and lives of individuals who have changed the course of history.

Joe Landwehr is an astrologer of 45+ years experience, seeking an eclectic integration of astrology, spiritual psychology, and ancient wisdom teachings. Author of several books and Director of The Astropoetic School of Soul-Discovery, brings a wide-ranging spiritual background to his work. He lives in Whittier, NC.

Astrology and the Archetypal Power of Numbers Part One Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780974762623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ancient Tower Press - January 18th, 2019

Astrology and the Archetypal Power of Numbers, Part Two Cover Image
$39.95
ISBN: 9780974762630
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ancient Tower Press - June 15th, 2018

Kerry Madden Story Time

Kerry Madden returns to City Lights Bookstore to read her new children’s book, Ernestine’s Milky Way on Tuesday, April 16th at 4 p.m.  In Maggie Valley, North Carolina, in the 1940s, Ernestine, who is five years old and a big girl, carries fresh milk to needy neighbors through thickets, down paths, and over a barbed-wire fence, despite her fears.


Kerry Madden is the author of the Smoky Mountain Trilogy, which includes Gentle's Holler, Louisiana's Song, and Jessie's Mountain. Gentle's Holler was included on the Bank Street College Best Children's Books list. Her first novel, Offsides, was a New York Public Library Pick for the Teen Age. Up Close: Harper Lee made Booklist's Top Ten Biographies for Youth list. Her first picture book, Nothing Fancy About Kathryn and Charlie, was illustrated by her daughter, Lucy. Kerry directs the creative writing program at the University of Alabama-Birmingham.

Ernestine's Milky Way Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524714840
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade - March 5th, 2019

Ann Melton

Ann Melton will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, April 20th at 3 p.m.  She will present her book While Walking with God.  The events of this book illustrate God’s unlimited and amazing power; he is able to do immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine. He promises that he will cause all things to work together for good for those who love him and are called according to his purpose. That means he will take our failures and mistakes and turn them into something worthwhile.

May these true accounts of many who walk daily with God encourage a closer relationship with and more dependence on our Lord and Savior. May they also be a reminder of God’s goodness, faithfulness, mercy, and grace.

While Walking with God Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781973637189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: WestBow Press - September 10th, 2018

Kim Michele Richardson New Book Launch

City Lights Bookstore will host Kim Michele Richardson to launch her new book on Saturday, May 4th at 6:30 p.m. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is Richardson’s fourth novel and is set in 1930’s Kentucky. The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything---everything except books that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome’s got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.  Cussy isn’t just a librarian. She’s the last of her kind. Her skin is a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy’s family for the Library Project and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachian mountains and suspicion as deep as the holler.

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492671527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 7th, 2019

The Sisters of Glass Ferry Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781496709554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - November 28th, 2017

Liar's Bench Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781617737336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - April 28th, 2015

Dana Wildsmith & Susan O’Dell Underwood Poetry Reading

Dana Wildsmith and Susan O’Dell Underwood will visit City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, May 25th at 3 p.m. They will read from their latest collections of poetry, One Light and The Book of Awe, respectively.

Dana Wildsmith is the author of a novel, Jumping, and an environmental memoir, Back to Abnormal: Surviving With An Old Farm in the New South, which was a finalist for Georgia Author of the Year. She is also the author of five collections of poetry. Wildsmith has served as Artist-in-Residence for Grand Canyon National Park and for Everglades National Park. She lives with her family on an old farm in north Georgia and works as an English literacy instructor at Lanier Technical College.

Susan O’Dell Underwood is currently a Professor of English and the Director of the Creative Writing Program at Carson-Newman University. In addition to The Book of Awe she has published two chapbooks, From and Love and Other Hungers.

One Light Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781680031744
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Texas Review Press - February 20th, 2019

The Book of Awe Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781604542486
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iris Press - October 15th, 2018

George Singleton’s New Short Story Collection

George Singleton will return to City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, March 16th at 3 p.m.  He will present his new short story collection Staff Picks.  In the tradition of Donald Barthelme, T. C. Boyle, Flannery O'Connor, and Raymond Carver, Singleton creates lingering, darkly comedic tales by drawing from those places where familiarity and alienation coexist. A remarkable and distinct effort from an acclaimed chronicler of the South, Staff Picks reaffirms Singleton's gift for crafting short story collections that both deliver individual gems and shine as a whole.

Staff Picks: Stories (Yellow Shoe Fiction) Cover Image
$22.50
ISBN: 9780807170335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: LSU Press - March 6th, 2019

Natalie Coward Anderson to Present Her Sophomore Novel

Jackson County native, Natalie Coward Anderson will present her second Young Adult novel on Friday, May 10th at 6:30 p.m. at City Lights Bookstore. Her new novel, Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday brings to life the plight of a boy soldier, Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What.

When Abdi's family is kidnapped, he's forced to do the unthinkable: become a child soldier with the ruthless jihadi group Al Shabaab. In order to save the lives of those he loves, and earn their freedom, Abdi agrees to be embedded as a spy within the militia's ranks and to send dispatches on their plans to the Americans. The jihadists trust Abdi immediately because his older brother, Dahir, is already one of them, protégé to General Idris, aka the Butcher. If Abdi's duplicity is discovered, he will be killed.

For weeks, Abdi trains with them, witnessing atrocity after atrocity, becoming a monster himself, wondering if he's even pretending anymore. He only escapes after he is forced into a suicide bomber's vest, which still leaves him stumps where two of his fingers used to be and his brother near death. Eventually, he finds himself on the streets of Sangui City, Kenya, stealing what he can find to get by, sleeping nights in empty alleyways, wondering what's become of the family that was stolen from him. But everything changes when Abdi's picked up for a petty theft, which sets into motion a chain reaction that forces him to reckon with a past he's been trying to forget. In this riveting, unflinching tale of sacrifice and hope, critically-acclaimed author Natalie C. Anderson delivers another tour-de-force that will leave readers at the edge of their seats.

Natalie C. Anderson is an American writer and international development professional living in Geneva, Switzerland. She has spent the last decade working with nongovernmental organizations (NGOs)and the United Nations on refugee relief and development, mainly in Africa. She was selected as the 2014–2015 Associates of the Boston Public Library Children’s Writer-in-Residence, where she wrote her debut novel, City of Saints and Thieves.

This event is free and open to the public. Order from the list below or call 828-586-9499 to reserve copies of Natalie's books.

Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

City of Saints & Thieves Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399547591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - May 8th, 2018

City of Saints & Thieves Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399547584
Availability: No new copies on our shelves but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask us.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2017

2019 Spring Literary Festival

2019 Spring Literary Festival

Spring Literary Festival: March 21-28, 2019
Fostering reading, cultivating the arts and enriching our community through the best humanities education possible.

Gilead: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780312424404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - January 10th, 2006

The Hamlet Fire: A Tragic Story of Cheap Food, Cheap Government, and Cheap Lives Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781620972380
Availability: No new copies on our shelves but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask us.
Published: New Press - September 5th, 2017

In Conversation with Jim McKairnes

Former CBS programming executive, Jim McKairnes will visit City Lights Bookstore on Friday, January 18th at 6:30 p.m. He will be in conversation with his long-time friend Jeff Ginn as they discuss Jim’s book, All in the Decade: 70 Things about 70s TV That Turned Ten Years Into a Revolution. To reserve copies of All in the Decade please call City Lights Bookstore in Sylva, NC at 828-586-9499.

David Gates w/ Tim Osment

City Lights Bookstore and The Jackson County Public Library have partnered for an event featuring David Gates and Tim Osment on Saturday, February 2nd at 3 p.m in the Community Room of the library. They will present David’s book, The Way I See It, a look at his life growing up in Appalachia, becoming blind, and the determination to succeed despite his many hardships. City Lights Bookstore will have copies of The Way I See It available on sale at the library. 

Pages

Download Audiobooks

Libro.fmWe've partnered with Libro.fm to bring you a top-notch option for digital audiobooks. Take a look at our large catalog of recorded books at https://libro.fm/citylightsnc 

Dig Sylva LogoOur Neighbors: City Lights Cafe