Independent Bookstore Day 2019

 

 

Sylva, North Carolina, April 27, 2019, Independent Bookstore Day marks its fifth year of celebrating independent bookstores nationwide on Saturday, April 27th, with literary parties around the country.

City Lights Bookstore at 3 East Jackson Street will be celebrating with storytime, a storewide sale, giveaways, and exclusive merchandise sure to delight readers. 

City Lights Bookstore will also offer exclusive day-of merchandise created especially for Independent Bookstore Day by major publishers and authors. Since its inception in 2014, more than 200 authors have demonstrated their support for independent bookstores by donating work for Bookstore Day.

The fifth annual National Independent Bookstore Day is sponsored in part by Penguin Random House, Ingram, and The American Booksellers Association. Last year participating bookstores saw an average increase in sales of 200% on Independent Bookstore Day, with some stores up as much as 1000% over their average Saturday sales in April.  In just five years, Independent Bookstore Day has become a book-buying holiday, increasing book sales on a national level.

The 2019 IBD author ambassador Tayari Jones says, “Indie stores stock books by hand and sell them the same way.  They know what we want and need to read because they know us, as people. A writer is not a machine. A reader is not an app.  We are human beings and so are the independent bookstore workers who show up each day and place books in our hands.”

Kim Michele Richardson New Book Launch

City Lights Bookstore will host Kim Michele Richardson to launch her new book on Saturday, May 4th at 6:30 p.m. The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is Richardson’s fourth novel and is set in 1930’s Kentucky. The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything---everything except books that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome’s got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.  Cussy isn’t just a librarian. She’s the last of her kind. Her skin is a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy’s family for the Library Project and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachian mountains and suspicion as deep as the holler.

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492671527
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 7th, 2019

The Sisters of Glass Ferry Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781496709554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - November 28th, 2017

Liar's Bench Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781617737336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington - April 28th, 2015

Natalie Coward Anderson to Present Her Sophomore Novel

Jackson County native, Natalie Coward Anderson will present her second Young Adult novel on Friday, May 10th at 6:30 p.m. at City Lights Bookstore. Her new novel, Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday brings to life the plight of a boy soldier, Forced to become a child soldier, a sixteen-year-old Somali refugee must confront his painful past in this haunting, thrilling tale of loss and redemption for fans of A Long Way Gone and What is the What.

When Abdi's family is kidnapped, he's forced to do the unthinkable: become a child soldier with the ruthless jihadi group Al Shabaab. In order to save the lives of those he loves, and earn their freedom, Abdi agrees to be embedded as a spy within the militia's ranks and to send dispatches on their plans to the Americans. The jihadists trust Abdi immediately because his older brother, Dahir, is already one of them, protégé to General Idris, aka the Butcher. If Abdi's duplicity is discovered, he will be killed.

For weeks, Abdi trains with them, witnessing atrocity after atrocity, becoming a monster himself, wondering if he's even pretending anymore. He only escapes after he is forced into a suicide bomber's vest, which still leaves him stumps where two of his fingers used to be and his brother near death. Eventually, he finds himself on the streets of Sangui City, Kenya, stealing what he can find to get by, sleeping nights in empty alleyways, wondering what's become of the family that was stolen from him. But everything changes when Abdi's picked up for a petty theft, which sets into motion a chain reaction that forces him to reckon with a past he's been trying to forget. In this riveting, unflinching tale of sacrifice and hope, critically-acclaimed author Natalie C. Anderson delivers another tour-de-force that will leave readers at the edge of their seats.

Natalie C. Anderson is an American writer and international development professional living in Geneva, Switzerland. She has spent the last decade working with nongovernmental organizations (NGOs)and the United Nations on refugee relief and development, mainly in Africa. She was selected as the 2014–2015 Associates of the Boston Public Library Children’s Writer-in-Residence, where she wrote her debut novel, City of Saints and Thieves.

This event is free and open to the public. Order from the list below or call 828-586-9499 to reserve copies of Natalie's books.

Let's Go Swimming on Doomsday Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399547614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 15th, 2019

City of Saints & Thieves Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780399547591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - May 8th, 2018

City of Saints & Thieves Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399547584
Availability: No new copies on our shelves but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask us.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 24th, 2017

Download Audiobooks

Libro.fmWe've partnered with Libro.fm to bring you a top-notch option for digital audiobooks. Take a look at our large catalog of recorded books at https://libro.fm/citylightsnc 

Dig Sylva LogoOur Neighbors: City Lights Cafe