author appearance

George Singleton’s New Short Story Collection

George Singleton will visit City Lights Bookstore to present his new collection of stories on Saturday, February 6th at 3 p.m. Calloustown, Singleton’s seventh collection, finds the author at the top of his game as he traces the unlikely inhabitants of the fictional Calloustown in all their humanity. Whether exploring family, religion, politics, or the true meaning of home, these stories range from deeply affecting to wildly absurd and back again in the blink of an eye. Tom Franklin, author of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, said, “If you read only one book this year, make it Calloustown. George Singleton is the best kind of genius, a mad one, and while his stories are acts of mad genius, they are also acts of great skill, acts of great compassion, acts of great intelligence. These are stories not to be missed.”

Calloustown Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781938103162
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dzanc Books - November 17th, 2015

Between Wrecks Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781938103797
Availability: None new in store (we can order) but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask
Published: Dzanc Books - May 6th, 2014

Jimmy Guignard Examines Rural Landscape Transformation

Professor and cyclist, Jimmy Guignard will present his book, Pedaling the Sacrifice Zone at City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, November 21st (2015) at 6:30 p.m. Living on 7 acres above the Marcellus Shale – an active gas play in Pennsylvania, Jimmy Guignard has witnessed the gradual transformation of the rural landscape his family calls home into an industrial sacrifice zone. In his new book Pedaling the Sacrifice Zone: Teaching, Writing, and Living above the Marcellus Shale, the English professor and experienced cyclist grapples with the meaning of place and the power of words. From the vantage point of a cyclist, Guignard tracks the takeover, pedaling thousands of miles through Tioga and surrounding counties, where he encounters increased truck traffic, crosses pipeline construction on trails and passes a growing number of flaring gas wells.  Juggling his roles as disinterested professor, anxious father and citizen and reluctant activist, Guignard reveals how the rhetoric of industry, politicians and locals reshaped his understanding of teaching and his faith in the force of language.

Pedaling the Sacrifice Zone: Teaching, Writing, & Living Above the Marcellus Shale Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781623493516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Texas A&M University Press - October 1st, 2015

Peter Loewer: Solving Deer Problems & Other Gardening Dilemmas

Asheville artist and gardening expert, Peter Loewer will return to City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, November 28th at 3 p.m. to celebrate the reissue of Solving Deer Problems. He will discuss methods on keeping these denizens of field and forest out of your carefully cultivated gardens. He will also take questions on other gardening topics. Peter Loewer has contributed to many national gardening magazines and is the author and illustrator of many gardening books. He is vice president of the Botanical Gardens in Asheville.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Solving Deer Problems: How to Deerproof Your Yard and Garden Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781632205353
Availability: None new in store (we can order) but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask
Published: Skyhorse Publishing - June 16th, 2015

Special Story Time with Anna Browning

Anna Browning will return to City Lights Bookstore on Saturday, November 21st at 11 a.m. for a special story time. She is the author of Tanner Turbeyfill and the Moon Rocks. Tanner has always wanted his own moon rocks. One night, while documenting a full moon from his tree house observatory, Tanner notices the moon starting to brighten into a blue color! What will this mysterious light do? Find out how Tanner gets to the moon and back, and see if Tanner is able to finally collect the moon rocks he has always desired.

Tanner Turbeyfill and the Moon Rocks [With CD (Audio)] Cover Image
By Anna Browning, Josh Crawford (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780983763864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Diamond Dmt Publishing LLC - June 3rd, 2013

Joseph Meigs Book Signing

On Saturday, December 5th at 1 p.m. artist and former WCU professor Joseph Meigs will present his short story collection, Artists’ Tale at City Lights Bookstore. Kathryn Byer said of the collection, “When Joseph Meigs spins a tale, you can expect it to be sharp-witted, observant,

and downright entertaining. After all, Meigs is a latter-day Renaissance man—Shakespeare scholar, cinema aficionado, popular university professor, and an artist himself. So, he knows the territory about which he writes, and he knows its inhabitants’ quirks, fears, passions, and jealousies.” To reserve copies of Artists’ Tale please call City Lights Bookstore at 828-586-9499.

 

Mark de Castrique Returns with a New Mystery Novel

Hendersonville native, Mark de Castrique will visit City Lights Bookstore on Friday, November 13th at 6:30 p.m. He will present his new mystery novel, A Specter of Justice. Set in Asheville, A Specter of Justice  follows P.I. Sam Blackman as he attempts to solve two murders in a ghost story reenactment that proves to be a bit too authentic. When his friend is accused of the murders, Sam steps in to find the true killer.


Mark de Castrique grew up in the mountains of western North Carolina where his mysteries are set. A veteran of the television and film production industry, he serves as an adjunct professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

A Specter of Justice Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781464204746
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Poisoned Pen Press - November 3rd, 2015

Brian Panowich Presents Debut Novel

Brian Panowich will present his debut novel on Friday, October 23rd at 6:30 p.mSet in the mountains of North Georgia, Bull Mountain straddles the line between literary and crime and will appeal to readers of Cormac McCarthy and Philipp Meyer, but also to fans of more traditional crime writers like James Lee Burke and George Pelecanos. Bull Mountain is a dark and violent story of multigenerational crime and retribution. The narrative unfolds from multiple points of view as it chronicles the criminal pursuits and acts of vengeance that have kept the troubled Burroughs clan in control of the surrounding community. Brian is a firefighter and former musician who lives in East Georgia with his wife and four children.

 

 

Staff Pick Logo
Bull Mountain Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780399173967
Availability: We can probably get this title, but there may be extra shipping.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 7th, 2015

Carolina Writers at Home: Kathryn Byer & Thomas Rain Crowe

Kathryn Byer and Thomas Rain Crowe have been included in a collection of true stories showcasing the houses where some of the most notable Southern authors have forged their writing lives. They both will be at City Lights Bookstore on Friday, November 6th at 6:30 p.m. to sign copies of Carolina Writers at Home.  The homes in these twenty-five essays range from the classic bungalow and mid-century modern ranch house to wilder locales: a church, a trailer, and a sparsely-inhabited barrier island. Alongside the essays, Rob McDonald's evocative photographs capture the writers in their habitat, preserving their distinct personalities as well as the particular character of the house and place they inhabit.

Carolina Writers at Home Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781938235177
Availability: None new in store (we can order) but maybe in used, now or arriving soon. Ask
Published: Hub City Press - October 15th, 2015

Pages

Download Audiobooks

Libro.fmWe've partnered with Libro.fm to bring you a top-notch option for digital audiobooks. Take a look at our large catalog of recorded books at https://libro.fm/citylightsnc 

Dig Sylva LogoOur Neighbors: City Lights Cafe